Love Jane Austen? 10 More Books to Read!
So, I'm a big Jane Austen fan. No secret! I'm linking up for Top Ten Tuesday to share ten books like another book or author. Recently, I shared psychological thrillers like Gone Girl. Today, I'll be sharing a few books to read after you've read all of the Jane Austen novels. Some are classic, some are written in the same style, but others are contemporary. I hope you'll find a book or two that you'll like!
Disclaimer: I have only read one novel that was based on the plot of an Austen novel. It was one of the worst books I've ever read. Other people who do enjoy novels based on Austen plots even disliked it, too. I just chose a bad place to start. So, this list is not a list of books based off of Austen's plots.
Love Jane Austen 10 More Books to Read! Here are 10 books that I would recommend for you, if you're a Jane Austen fan!

classics

Jane EyreCharlotte Brontë

books like jane austen This classic novel is mandatory reading for Jane Austen fans!

Middlemarch, George Eliot

books like jane austen Middlemarch takes place in the upper-class society of the town. George Eliot, who was actually a woman writing under a man's name, explores many of the same themes as Austen. She writes about the importance of marriage to the right person, money, and social status. Definitely a must read for someone who has exhausted all Austen novels.

A Portrait of a Lady, Henry James

books like jane austen While this book takes place a little later in history, the main character, Isabel Archer, could admired by a Jane Austen fan. The novel is a tangle of love and indecision. I will say that it is a much heavier read than an Austen novel.

Cranford, Elizabeth Gaskell

books like jane austen This novel had me laughing out loud! Gaskell has written many novels, but this is my favorite. It's nice, short story about the women living in a small town named Cranford. They don't have a lot of money, but they like to keep up appearances for each other out of tradition. Some of the funniest moments come when there is a mysterious robber in the town and the women have to take care of each other.

Georgette Heyer:

Heyer began publishing thrillers during the 1930's and continued to write novels of all genres through the end of her life. She published a total of 48 books, with the final novel published posthumously. If you are looking for books like Jane Austen, her Regency Romances are the perfect fit for you!

The Grand Sophybooks like jane austen

If you are new to Georgette Heyer, I recommend starting here. This novel is laugh out loud funny! I don't normally use publisher's synopses in my posts, but I thought it would be the easiest way to explain the novel. Basically, Sophy is fun and full of life, but her rich family members are not. The rest of London society doesn't seem to be very fun either:

When Lady Ombersley agrees to take in her young niece, no one expects Sophy, who sweeps in and immediately takes the ton by storm. Sophy discovers that her aunt's family is in desperate need of her talent for setting everything right: Ceclia is in love with a poet, Charles has tyrannical tendencies that are being aggravated by his grim fiancee, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. By the time she's done, Sophy has commandeered Charles's horses, his household, and finally, his heart.

Arabella

books like Jane Austen

Again, this Regency Romance is hysterical. Arabella is the daughter of a poor clergyman whose wife comes from a family with a lot of money. His wife saves her money for Arabella's entire life, so that she can send the very beautiful Arabella to London to stay with her Godmother for the season, with the hope of making an eligible match that will help the rest of her sisters get married.

Arabella, who is slightly naive, but very smart, starts her journey off with a mistake that causes calamity for the rest of the novel. You have to read the novel to find out if that mistake can possibly lead to love!

Frederica

books like jane austen Frederica and her  siblings go to London for the social season, in order to give younger and beautiful sister a chance to make a good marriage. Frederica is a witty character who believes herself. But when they are introduced to London society by their distant "cousin" Lord Alverstoke, Frederica is amazed to finds herself, unknowingly, falling in love. Likewise, Alverstoke, a cold aristocrat, finds himself thoroughly beguiled by Frederica and her young rascally brothers.  

Contemporary

First Impressions: A Novel of Old Books, Unexpected Love, and Jane Austen

books like jane austenWhile I wouldn't say that this novel is based on any Austen plots, I do think that it's obvious from the start (and Lovett says in interviews) that the main character has her own Darcy and Wickham-esque to deal with. I thought that I noticed this as I read the novel, but wasn't sure. After I read the novel, I did a quick internet search!

Lizzy and Jane, Katherine Reay

books like jane austen Normally, I don't go for inspirational fiction, but this book was a fun read. All of the Jane Austen references will make a fan's heart skip a beat. Also, I think I learned a lot about cooking during the novel, too. You can check out my full review here!   If you were counting, that was actually only nine books! Instead of giving you a tenth book, I'll give you a few authors to make sure that you check out:
  • Any of the Bronte sisters
  • George Eliot
  • Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Wilkie Collins
  • Louisa May Alcott
And, if you want to watch a movie, here is a great list of Austen plots turned into contemporary movies!

Linking up with Broke and Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday!

Please note that comments with links that are not relevant to the discussion will not be approved. Personal signatures with blog URLs will be deleted. Please use the Disqus profile to add your blog's URL, so that I can find you.
Categories: Reading | Tags: |
  • Oh wow would you believe that we have both chosen the same idea for this link up! My Jane Austen alternatives are a bit different to yours though, but I have of course included Georgette Heyer!

    • I just found this link up and love it! I’m not crazy about the next few topics, but the last few were awesome! I did a post on books like Gone Girl and it’s quite popular on Google!I thought Jane Austen would be the easiest for me to write about because there are so many classic authors who are like her, plus some contemporary takes. I am interested to see what other people chose! (I thought this might be a popular one, but I am also interested to see what other people recommend that is like her).Subject: Re: Comment on Love Jane Austen? 10 More Books to Read!

  • Yessssssss. I LOVE JANE AUSTEN. I can’t say it loudly enough. I will definitely be checking these out.

    • The Georgette Heyers are hysterical (at least the ones that I listed)! There are so many classic novels that I had to cut myself off 🙂

  • Ohhhh I have so many ideas. I thought the Georgette Heyer novels were really funny. I didn’t read much my first few years after college, but then I started grad school. Then I still didn’t love what I was reading (English Lit degree). Some books that I would recommend, aside from just these, would be The Rules of Civility, This is Where I Leave You, and Rebecca. Those are all good reads that aren’t too dense that you would just put them down!

  • I have only read Lizzy & Jane and The Grand Sophy. Clearly I need to get my act together! I have read some awful absolutely horrible P&P variations and sequels, so I am pretty much done trying. I love Abigail Reynolds’ books but they aren’t for everyone, and I think Longbourn just ruined any kind of retelling for me and I am just done! I don’t mind the modern day twists or whatever, but jeepers Longbourn was bad.

    • Yeah, Longbourn was HORRIBLE. My mom called last week and asked if I’d read it. I said “Yes. STAY AWAY FROM IT!!! Don’t you read my blog?!?!!” Longbourne could have been SO good, but it went so wrong.
      I have a copy of Dear Mr. Knightley to read soon. I need to find some more funny Heyer novels. The ones I listed are safe ones to read.

  • I wasn’t a fan of Little Men, but I just saw that there is a 1.5 (called like Little Women and Girls or something). I’m definitely interested in that!

  • Yes, I love Jane Eyre. First Impressions was good. I want to go back and read the author’s first novel. It seems kind of similar, but based on Shakespeare.

  • I’ve always loved the classics, but joining a “Classics Club” challenge has really helped me!

  • I can’t believe it took me so long to read Cranford! It’s so funny! My mom said she saw the BBC production (probably from the 80’s), so she read it after me and loved it too. She said it was much better than the movie–of course!!

  • I’ve never heard of those! Going on my TBR list 🙂 They sound great!

  • I actually didn’t like North and South! I liked the BBC production, but I guess since the “novel” was serialized (I was told) that’s why the ending felt rushed. Cranford was funny. It was almost slapstick at parts. The Georgette Heyer novels that I listed are my favorites. They’re the funniest ones that I read. Some of her novels have “silly” or “dumb” female main characters who are dependent on evil or seemingly evil men. It just always bothers me when I get to the end.